Palmyra lost

Dear friends

I’m sorry to read today – BBC news article – about the destruction of the temple at Palmyra, Syria. It seems insane, to me, that historical buildings and art work should become targets. But I suppose that is part of any ideological war.

I’m working on qualifying as a conservation architect and I love the care that can be found in older artefacts. This summer we visited a Gothic church (or two!) in France – those vaulted ceilings are an inspiration. 

Why did they build like that?

One of our dear children asked me.  To glorify God, I explained – they were building the best for God. 

Those buildings, constructed following a simple belief system of worshiping Deity, are marvels in whatever culture, because of the belief of those that caused them to be built.  I’m sure there were some unrighteous happenings during their construction – slave labour, exploitation, corruption – and there was death and injury.  For those reasons too we should never forget – that construction may be their only legacy.  I find when visiting such historical places that my mind reflects on the people of that time.  My spirit is touched by their lives.

So I’m grateful for those that work hard to record buildings, edifices, so we can visit, reflect and grow. 

One thought on “Palmyra lost

  1. miusho Wednesday, 26 August 2015 / 05:47

    It’s more tactical I believe.. If they destroy any trace of the past, we won’t remember it or ask questions about it. :/ Wiping out all traces of other religions so all that is left will be theirs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

