the pizza cutter lesson

Dear friends

I’m a fairly frugal person so I often feel I must justify a purchase, particularly for kitchen utensils. Why buy a specific tool when another tool will do the same thing, well, more or less?

But then, last week, in the supermarket I caught sight of the stainless steel shining in the light, the precision engineering of the blade and handle. It called to me, buy me, you know how the pizza edge crumbles under a knife and how hard it is to cut through the toppings…

So, we’re enjoying beautifully sliced pizzas and I regret not buying one a long time ago.  My own foolishness – thinking I was being smart but really living well below life’s great offering!  I’ve learnt my lesson 😉  This applies to everything – not just kitchen utensils!  Don’t do the same!!

ps – other recent utensil additions include stainless steel measuring cups & (separate buy) stainless steel measuring spoons 🙂 yes, I like stainless steel!! The ultimate kitchen utensil in my mind – which I might have to buy one day if I want to become more adventurous with food – a kitchen scale!!

4 thoughts on “the pizza cutter lesson

  1. Anna Waldherr Sunday, 12 July 2015 / 07:31

    I do not cook. I burn, scald, singe, spill, underbake, overcook, drench, and dry food into submission. This does not keep me from owning lovely utensils (LOL).

    Like

  2. Krystle Wynnona Sunday, 12 July 2015 / 06:27

    Great Post! And thanks for stopping by my blog as well.

    Like

  3. miusho Wednesday, 8 July 2015 / 21:12

    I love my scale. If only I had it when I tried to make cake … Maybe that cake wouldn’t have been so dry. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

