“Uptown Funk”

Dear friends,
What is this music phenomenon?
This evening my dear husband called me from the kitchen to hear our dear children “serenade” him with this song (Mark Robson ft. Bruno Mars)!! I still can’t work out how our youngest (son), at seven years old knows the lyrics – they play it at school in dance club!
I first heard this song on the radio a few months back when our eldest son stated:

It’s from this century!

or words to that effect, to which I thought, oh, very clever!  I have no idea what the lyrics are, I can only pick up some words when I hear the children sing them.  I’m sure there’s something not good about it and our eldest son has said there’s at least one swear word and he didn’t think it would be played at the dance at the church youth convention in the summer.  Mmmm…

And it continues on, both Obama’s on YT singing, dancing, and then our youngest daughter found this… Alex Boye cover version. Alex used to be in London when we first got married so we know him a little – he’s LDS, so we noted how ‘liquor’ became ‘cool aid’ (forgive me if I’ve spelt that wrong).  So, I expect that this piece of music will continue for a long time.

We’re now wondering how many of the wards (church units) will use it in the road shows later this year!!  And this is where we need to make good, better and best choices! I’m not going to say to behave all self righteous and say I won’t listen to it because I like the tune, I like to dance, I’ve not heard the Lord’s name in vain, and, quite frankly, I have no idea what the lyrics mean.  However, I’m not silly – I’ve never been able to listen to Ricky Martin’s La Vida Loca once our Primary Music Leader picked apart the lyrics for the children to see and learn one Sunday in music time many years ago! – so I will endeavour to discover the meaning of the lyrics, if there’s any, and if I discover it’s all about dodgy stuff – drugs, being unchaste etc – then I will have to explain to the children why they shouldn’t really embrace it!! I’ve got to do it!!

One thought on ““Uptown Funk”

  1. miusho Saturday, 25 April 2015 / 10:52

    That is why I prefer music I can’t understand.. I won’t have to listen to all those swear words in today’s “popular music”… I do like Uptown Funk though, it’s very catchy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

