helping our planet

Dear friends,
Yesterday our annual water bill arrived and we are in credit so monthly payments have reduced 🙂 not by much but it’s something. So that got me thinking on how much or little we’re doing day to day to save our planet. (I might do this over a couple of posts, as I write I realise there’s much I want to say!)

One of my more lasting memories of primary school was when a group of people came in to tell us that gas, coal & oil was running out and by the time we were grown up alternative sources would be used, sun, water, wind. Through my early teens and student days I waited for this moment where the earth would stop providing for us humans.

I’ve seen the rise, fall and rise again of nuclear energy. But we still use gas for cooking & heating. I’ve seen petrol prices rise, rise, dip and rise but still we keep on using petrol/ diesel (fossil) fueled vehicles. I have seen the rise and rise of photovoltaic (PV) units on buildings. And the rise of the Kyoto Treaty, zero carbon legislation, Passivhaus, LEED and BREAM sustainability standards for the construction industry to target.

But, fundamentally, I’m not sure that we’re changing enough. I’m heading home on public transport – we’re crawling out of town with traffic. Cycling – I would gladly do so if the roads were safer – there are some reckless drivers. But with summer time coming this weekend, maybe I will take to the bike more!  Yes, being a fair weather cyclist I can cope with! 🙂

I’m sure a more hardened environmentalist would look at our lifestyle and find many areas to improve but I don’t think we’re bad. For a family of six we produce less non recyclable waste than our octogenarian neighbour as demonstrated during the rubbish collectors strike a couple summers ago – whew!!! And last year our water supplier compared our usage to a family of 4 with a garden!! And our energy provider states we consistently use less than the ‘average’ for similar households.

So my friends, let us think on what we’re doing to help our beautiful planet Earth to continue providing for us.

And the earth shall be given unto them for an inheritance; and they shall multiply and wax strong, and their children shall grow up without sin unto salvation.

Doctrine and Covenants 45 verse 58

Leave a Reply

