triumphant Sabbath, again

Dear friends, I am absolutely convinced that forces conspire each Sabbath morning to put us off attending sacrament meeting, which starts at 10h.  Every day of the working week we manage to get dressed, eat breakfast and be at school before 9h so why are Sundays so difficult?
Today, despite 2 out of 4 children having showers the night before, at 9h30 I was finishing my toast, shoes and coats were being donned and I caught sight of eldest daughter with hair not brushed as she headed out the door and into the car. Eldest son, oh no, it’s my turn in the front seat! Well, it’s my turn with the (tablet) at church! Mum!!  I have to sit in the front so I can use the mirror… blah…blah…blah… and some less than Christlike attitudes between brother and sister being expressed… I finally warned each of them, separately, that they ought to be “reconciled” before taking the sacrament, not take it unworthily, and really think about what Jesus went through. I think you can cope with the back seat!  Meanwhile, our youngest son asks me, have I been good this morning? 🙂 
With a couple of minutes to spare, we drive into the car park, I have to drive up to the top part, which I have avoided since bursting a tyre on the ramp wall (oops!!), make it into the chapel, shaking missionaries hands on the way in, prelude organ music well underway. 09h57 on the clock.  Made it, yes!, and a sense triumph and calm flows over me. 
At some point during the meeting, I see our eldest son & daughter exchange knowing glances, they are reconciled. And our youngest daughter draws my attention to our youngest son’s navy trousers… peanut butter smudges… I simply smile, no one is perfect, the Lord knows that but at least we’re all in the right place, at the right time, once more. 

5 thoughts on “triumphant Sabbath, again

  1. whatthegiggle Monday, 16 March 2015 / 03:06

    I agree with you 100%!! And it’s been worse since my calling changed. Literally a month sick between the stomach flu, strep, bronchitis and a sinus infection, it’s like the enemy knows I’m on fire for the Lord and that the biggest impact he can make on our girls is to keep me away. My rule of thumb is if the doctor says no work or church that’s the end of the discussion. So far that’s three out of the last four Sunday’s.

    I am grateful to see you were able to wrangle each of your ducklings this morning and make it in to enjoy your Sabbath day and pray for
    Continued success next weekend.

    Like

    • princessarchitect Monday, 16 March 2015 / 22:49

      Thank you!! And don’t get down about being unwell – trials are part of growing! Who was it that mentioned children and trials in the same sentence!?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. maddmombetty Monday, 16 March 2015 / 02:53

    Take a photo of those pants. Someday you’ll miss them. Or you can blackmail him with it! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

