a theory of height

Dear friends, after some routine health monitoring checks at school, our youngest daughter (Bo) declared that her height is 1.6m, weight 5.49 “something” (? – I’m still trying to work that out…). I’m 1.7m’ish, having grown very little at secondary school – I was tall when we started but by 16 years the boys had overtaken me and I no longer loomed over my girl friends.
My theory is fairly simple – boys always grow taller than their mothers; girls get height from dad more than mum.
So, at 1.7m I’m considered a tall lady so ive always expectrd our sons will be tall men – our eldest son is about 1.85m (that’s 6’2″) and he’s still growing based on the suit trousers that he got less than 6 months ago are now ‘ankle swingers’!! 
My dear husband is about 1.75m, fairly average for a man. Our eldest daughter, well into adolescence, seems to be levelling around a little shorter than me (average woman height). So will our youngest daughter be taller? Will Bo be taller than both her parents? We have a few more years to wait, God willing.
Although I’m writing about this, I don’t make a big deal about it. I figure the children will yet be faced with enough judgements on their outward appearance, and complexes about bits of their body (mine is feet!), without me as a parent adding.  We are grateful for our children, for what characteristics they inherit, and for what qualities are unique to them.  I pray that the Lord will bless them as they grow, for many, many years – Luke 2 verse 52:

And Jesus increased in wisdom and stature, and in favour with God and man.

Leave a Reply

