writing it down

Dear friends, many years ago, before marriage and children, I decided I wanted to write a book.  I mentioned this to someone who stated, with a hint of cynicism, “everyone has a book inside them.”  I was a little put off by this but I had a title The Quiet Ones and a topic, my life 🙂 which I felt was pretty special.  
My dear husband has always encouraged me to pursue this desire but there’s always been other priorities that demanded my time and attention.

So writing my blog is a small way of sharing the topic of my life, which I still feel is special. In fact, I feel everyone’s life is special and to be shared with all those in their sphere of influence. (Which reminds me – did you know that a rolling sphere theory is used to work out requirements for lightning protection on buildings? I digress but I’ll come back to spheres one day!)

So, writing it down means that sphere has a chance to roll through time, as well as space!! From a Garrison Keillor book “you can’t pick up a telephone to reach the past. You’ve got to pick up a piece of paper” (or similar phrase), I think it’s from We Are Still Married. I’ve always remembered that idea.
On the radio this week was the story of how a building was being refurbished and a child’s note to an older brother was discovered fallen behind a radiator 70 years ago and he was traced.
There is a whole load of quotes from LDS leaders as to the importance of journal keeping. I’m only going to quote one, Spencer W Kimball, Ensign, December 1980.

Each of us is important to those who are near and dear to us – and as our posterity read of our life’s experiences, they, too, will come to know and love us. And in that glorious day when our families are together in the eternities, we will already be acquainted.”

So, writing it down, my unique life, your unique life, our unique lives, is of great importance to you and yours. It doesn’t matter how long or short we live – each life matters. There are many that can write far more eloquently than me on matters of writing. For me, it gives me the chance to reflect; for you, well, I hope you can find inspiration and a knowledge that you are never alone.

4 thoughts on “writing it down

Leave a Reply

