a frosty day

Dear friends, we had to scrape the car again this morning. This isn’t unusual but it’s not typical; we live on the coast, in northern Europe, it’s mid January, it’s winter.  So early morning seminary (youth scripture study programme) becomes more challenging and this morning scraping the car before 06h15 so my dear husband could jump in and drive the two eldest children to the church.

There’s much variation in the land around us and micro climates often means localised frost.  So yesterday when one of the (female) architects SP grimaced ‘I was scraping the car this morning,’ I agreed ‘me too.’  To which our (male) colleague DE, who loves his cars, exclaimed, “l never use a scraper on the car. Tap water with the wipers on … fast.”  SP: But that immediately freezes into a sheet of ice.  Me: yes, I tried it when my husband told me.  DE: then it would have to be sub zero temperatures.   SP/ Me: It is! There’s frost on the car!  DE: well, I never use a scraper!

So with that conversation in mind, this morning I thought, I’m going to try the tap water method, one more time….  wipers on fast,  eldest son brings jug of tap water, pour, splashes back on me, adjust position,  pour,  frost gone…, sheet of ice forms, scraping…!  DE is going to hear from me! 😦

The point is, nature is obedient to the laws of physics… water on a surfaces below 0 degrees Celsius will freeze. No stopping that. That is a law of the universe,  it’s a law from God. And all nature obeys these laws, no stopping that!  I think that’s why nature is perceived as powerful. We need to obey God’s laws as nature does, and when we do that we will have access to the strength of God 🙂

O how great is the nothingness of the children of men; yea, even they are less than the dust of the earth.  For behold,  the dust of the earth moveth hither and thither,  to the dividing asunder,  at the command of our great and everlasting God.  Helaman 12 verses 7 & 8

Leave a Reply

