supermarché, et al

Dear friends, this evening I’m on chauffeur duty – our dear two eldest children have seminary  (an LDS scripture study programme) in the next city followed by youth activities. This happens once a month so this evening,  having set out a bit earlier (picking up friend of dear daughter and allowing time for extra traffic due to bridge works) we arrived safely and in time.   So I decided to amuse myself by browsing round the local budget supermarket, twice! (I bought water & blueberry yoghurt for myself).  However, I felt a little melancholy while going round 😦

The last Christmas goods were knocked down in price for sale – from cards, to decorations, to Stollen, marzipan and a solitary stocking.  And then the would -be winter gifts – gilets, socks (lots of seasonal socks!), special box sets.  And then, as I came along the frozen food aisle with seasonal prawns,  my mind reflected on the news we heard in the car – 5 killed in the kosher supermarket in Paris,  including the gun man who killed the police officer yesterday.   And then I thought on how sad, disturbing,  that one walks into a simple supermarket and – because of another person’s choice – one doesn’t walk out.

It’s been a difficult week in Europe;  the French ‘motto’ = Liberté, Égalité, Fraternité = has been tested in a most cruel manner.   But, although I feel sad, I do not despair, because I know the state of our world, at this time,  has been prophesied – “And because iniquity shall abound, the love of many shall wax cold” (Matthew 24 v12).  So let’s stand up for truth and righteousness, and that includes freedom, equality and brotherhood, for that is who we are. 🙂  And we must keeping praying for the day when this iniquity will be bound!

Leave a Reply

