corporate v creative

Dear friends, it’s a sunny afternoon as I look out over the Square with a lone skateboarder, me munching a beautiful, crunchy apple. A rest break, is the word for this in the staff survey! There’s some glitch with my email (I can see them stacking up in the outbox)… and there goes a mobile phone not on silent.

We are in an open plan office, everyone, from the operations director to the apprentice.  This is about the work station that I’ve sat in.  I am a senior architect, which means I have a small team to manage, 2 assistants & 1 architect; we are part of a larger team consisting of 16 (with landscape, interiors and health & safety); and then we are all part of one bigger international multi disciplinary practice with about 100 staff in our office.  So, when I say we had a ‘staff strategic brief’ this morning, maybe you can imagine the way it goes and the words used.  Corporate v Creative – that’s how it often feels.  But I have worked on some great projects and one of the reasons I wanted to be an architect was to improve the built environment, particularly for those most vulnerable who rely on public sector commissions for homes & education.  Since the practice is in partnership with the local authority, for the most part, I am living my dream job.  I know many people don’t have that chance, and I didn’t for 15years or so. So I am very grateful to our Father in Heaven for this job, that it’s close to home and gives the flexibility I need with our family.  🙂

